Nintendo 64 Video Cable

I am probably one of the few people in the world bought their first gaming console at the age of 20, at Goodwill, for $15. Naturally, there has to be some sort of catch – the RF modulator didn’t work and even if it did the TV is in my parents bedroom.

Conclusion: We must get audio and composite video output from the Nintendo and plug it into ReRun without spending money on a cable. This adapter is what resulted.

(Sorry about the formatting; still trying to figure out how to make WP align things correctly.)

I found a pinout for the A/V connector at pinouts.ru. It’s pretty straight-forward and has basically all the signals you need in one convenient connector; the main problem is finding the right connector, as it’s a custom edge-card type deal. I’m a cheapskate, so obviously hunting up something to buy was out of the question. (But I’ve since found at least two different nintendo video cables at Goodwill.)


I had some odd edge-card slots sitting around, I think from a box of junk I got from a Physics department cleanout at SMCC.


From there it’s primarily a matter of cutting a piece to length and filing it down to fit in the slot.


Filing it is a little tedious. Take it slow and do it straight. My connector had to filed down to super-thin edges to fit and I broke it. Luckily super glue worked…


It fits! Woohoo! Now for the fun soldering part that I didn’t take pictures of.


The final product. I wired it with a short piece of Cat5, using one pair each for left audio, right audio, and composite video. I put the signal on one wire of the pair and ground on the other. On the pinout, pins 11 and 12 are labeled as L+R Audio (Mono) and L-R audio (To calculate stereo), but I’m not convinced that this is correct, it sounds like normal stereo to me.
